Drawing the path

If you’re a J2EE beginner like me, you probably find yourself many times wondering what should you start learning and what should you learn next. There is so much information on the web that it becomes difficult to know where to start. When I first found myself determined to learn J2EE I started by learning Servlets. I got myself the book “Java Servlet Programming” and started programming my own Servlets. It all went pretty straightforward. The book is very clear and in short time I could develop a Servlet that connected to a remote database using the JDBC API and performed a SQL query. If you want to learn Servlets I truly recommend this book. The end of the book gives a brief introduction to JSPs which you should certainly learn if you’re interested in developing the web tier and if you want to be a J2EE professional.

So what should be the path to follow if you’re a beginner? Today I found a very interesting discussion about “Learning Roadmap for a J2EE Beginner”. I could identify myself with many of the questions being asked by that student. One of the most important was: “Do I actually need to learn EJBs? Or should I just forget about it and go after a lightweight framework like Spring?” Many people say EJBs are a waste of time. That might be true but how are you going to understand why EJBs are such a pain in the ass? Personally I will not spend much time with EJBs but I pretend to understand why there are so many developers that don’t like this technology. In any case, I found really interesting advices in the discussion I just mentioned, and I more or less draw the path I am going to take in the near future. I wish I had more time to assimilate all this input! (aka “How do Java people find time to learn this stuff?”)

One thought on “Drawing the path

  1. There’s this guy Dave answering to the article that you mention with this: “Learn the basic J2EE technologies: Servlets, JSP, JDBC. Then move on to a basic templating system – like Velocity. Those are all you need to make a database-driven web site. You might also want to learn about Hibernate.”

    Sounds like really good advice. I read 2 or 3 lines of Apache’s Velocity home page and it sounds like a good thing. Definetely worth checking out. It’ll keep things simple and from my experience, templating is THE thing to use in websites if you want a good seperation between business logic and presentation.

    I’m not sure how much this Velocity thing enforces the MVC model, but hopefully not too much, so you can have your own control of how things should work.

    Anyhow: go girl, go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

